Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help finding the right component.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gavilan

I am just beginning to build simple circuits.

I am building a solar charged - battery operated - LED Array pathway light.

I plan on using a NPN power transistor to act as a switch to close the charging circuit to the battery.

When the cell begins to generate a voltage it will forward bias the gate and allow current to flow to the battery from the solar array. I have that taken care of.

The problem I face is I need a normally closed electronic device that uses little or no parasitic power to turn the LED array off when the solar cell begins to generate a voltage. I do not want to use a photonic device. I want to use a signal voltage from the solar cell to turn OFF the power to the LED array.

Again: When there is no signal voltage the device allows current to flow.
When there is a signal voltage the device quits conducting.

Is there such a device?

Any information you would be willing to share with me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Gavilan

Hi Gavilan,
Just a couple of questions.
Usually you can let the solar cell charge anytime it's voltage is higher than the battery voltage so only a diode is needed to keep the battery from flowing backward into the solar cell.
I'm guessing you want to use the absence of solar power to turn on the light?
What is the battery voltage?

Thank You for your reply ronv. It is much appreciated.