Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need advice on repairing a wireless speaker

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm a novice electronics guy and I just blew my wireless speaker because I tried to do a simple repair to the DC input and bodged the polarity. The speaker system is: House of Marley Get Together Bluetooth Wireless Speaker

I can't find any schematics for it nor can I see any visible damage on the 2 boards.

I'm sure I shorted out something when I reversed the polarity on the power supply and am surprised that there was no diode to protect it.

As soon as I did the system died and will not work if plugged in (correctly) or on battery power so I'm sure the fault must be on the main board, not just the smaller PS board.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, even a link to a good replacement kit where I could reuse all the speaker & battery parts I have that Im sure are still good.

Attachments

• 20181230_104618.jpg
    20181230_104618.jpg
    695.7 KB · Views: 282
  • 20181230_114912.jpg
    20181230_114912.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 312
  • 20181230_114935.jpg
    20181230_114935.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 248
  • 20181230_115004.jpg
    20181230_115004.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 273
  • 20181230_115014.jpg
    20181230_115014.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 253
  • 20181230_115054.jpg
    20181230_115054.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 259
  • 20181230_115102.jpg
    20181230_115102.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 251
Last edited: