Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need advice for a LED circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

mustafa56

Good Day to All

I'm a plastic aircraft modeler with limited knowledge in electronics. I am illuminating a model with 3 micro LED and one 3mm white LED lights. Of these one has a simple flasher from Radio Shack, (yeah, the one you buy for $5 bucks that comes with one LED in a small printed board and hooked up to a 3vdc battery pack that serves for any proyect). All these LED's and the flashing board are hooked to the same battery pack.

I'm feeding the circuit with a 3.0 vdc battery pack. The problem is that when the circuit is on, the flasher goes to work and every time it flashes it dims the rest of the LED's in the circuit. I know, from my limited knowledge, that there is something I can include in the circuit to prevent that from happening and to maintain a constant voltage across the rest of the LED's. Will anyone please advice what can I do and use to prevent that effect? See the simple drawing included of the circuit.

Many thanks for your time and advice.

George

Attachments

• LED circuit.jpg
    LED circuit.jpg
    23.7 KB · Views: 552
you need some resistors on your non-flashing LEDs ... the different colors (red versus green/white) have different forward voltages ... so your RED led is going to hog a lot of current compared to the green and white leds.

get some resistors for each led, and that should also help resolve your dimming problem.