Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Multiple USB charge ports

Status
Not open for further replies.

protdo

Hi guys

I'm interested in installing usb charge ports in a 14 seater passenger vehicle, Please understand I'm not a auto electrician but I'm keen on learning... my queries are :

(1) How many ports can I safely install?
(2) Is there enough power from the vehicle, it uses a 12V battery
(3) What components would be necessary to accomplish this task?

You can buy USB charging outlets to mount in vehicles, eg.
**broken link removed**

They have the electronics built in, they just need a 12V supply.
(Search ebay for "vehicle USB outlet).

To be safe, allow two amps current (at 12V) per outlet, wire in groups of five and fuse each group at 10A, using wire rated at a minimum of 10A

That would allow up to 15 units in all in three groups, so feed the three fuses fuses with wire rated at a minimum of 35A and a 35A fuse from the battery.

That could be via a suitably rated switch (or switch and relay) to control the power feed to the outlet devices, so you can turn them off when the engine is not running so you do not flatten the battery.

If you use a relay, the feed to the relay contact could come from the battery (via the 35A fuse) and the switch that controls the relay from the ignition accessory circuit, so everything is off when the ignition switch is off.