Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Multiple Temperature Monitoring/Control System

Status
Not open for further replies.

RowingMunkeyCU

Hey guys, first post here and I'm working on a project and trying to determine the changes needed to an existing project to make mine work. I'm not as familiar with electronics as I'd like (I'm a software engineer) so I know I have a lot to learn.

What I'm trying to do is monitor approximately 20 separate temperature sensors (thermistors) and control 20 separate heating devices (FlexWatt heat tape). The sensors/heating devices are to be in a 1:1 ratio. Each sensor/heating device pair should operate independently from the rest.

The project that I'm working from is:
**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

So the main question is how can I expand the number of sensors that the project is using to the number I'd like to use (~20)?

1. I see that each thermistor occupies 2 channels on the ADC (8 channels)which limits it to a max of 4 sensors. 'Bigger' (40 channel) ADC or multiple ADCs?

2. Since there is a limit to the number of control signals output from the parallel port, what's the possibility of running it over USB and using a demux of some sort to control the heaters?

Thanks in advance!

Seems like a nice project for a microcontroller.

Edit the web site you link was a student project and hasn't been updated since 2004. Also claimed a cost of $17,524.15 AU.

Last edited:
USB + micro is nice but if you want a quick change try this.