Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Multimeter

Status
Not open for further replies.

irisd

Hi
I am new to electronics. I would like to know if it is possible to find out if a battery is working or dead using just a multimeter? If yes, then how can we do that?

One more question, for someone has to start microcontroller projects, what is the best way to start?

Thanks

Do some research yourself. You won't get a lot of responces to questions like this because even a few minutes of research using Google, or Wikipedia will give you the answers.

irisd said:
Hi
I am new to electronics. I would like to know if it is possible to find out if a battery is working or dead using just a multimeter? If yes, then how can we do that?

One more question, for someone has to start microcontroller projects, what is the best way to start?

Thanks

Yes a multimeter will tell you if a battery is dead or not but not necessarily how much capacity is left. Some battery types like nickle cadmium have a very quick drop off when nearing their end of capacity, where others like lead acid have a near linear drop off of terminal voltage Vs remaining capacity.

Also measuring the battery voltage while it is actually supplying the load is more reliable then reading the battery voltage while disconnected.