Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Multi-specific electronics (Computer Case Modding)

Status
Not open for further replies.

StormRyda

Hey all...this is my first time posting in a long while. I occasionally read the forum's since I am no expert myself in electronics but it's getting their.

I'll get to the point. For next year's local case modding competition I have some ideas in mind which I have not been able to solve and would like some opinions.

The power button on your computer is basically just used like a switch in which when its pressed it lets a current through which opens the circuit for operation and your computer starts up. How could i accomplish this remotely/wirelessly(with what circuit?) I really don't want to have it like a rf remote in which i have to point it at the computer kind of like the tv to turn it on. if theirs any way to accomplish this so that you could turn it on through a wall? This circuit would be running off of the PSU.

I have seen small lcd displays that are attached to cars or other misc devices that are hidden then come out and fold up like a labtop. Lets say i wanted to put one 5" x 5" or similar lcd in one of my 5.25' drive bays..how could this be done? Im not worried about powering it yet or what type of lcd..I just want to know how the concept of folding it up is accomplished.