Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Motor Driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

cosmonavt

I am new to the field of robotics. I have googled up motor drivers to learn that they are used to control the speed of a motor and acts as an intermediate device between the microcontroller and the motor.

If we are getting 5V out of an MCU, can't we simply use a transistor to amplify this to 12V to power on a motor? What are the drawbacks of this method? When it comes to Pulse Width Modulation, can't we simply turn on and off the voltage from the output of the MCU?

Yes and Yes. However controllers will do more like control direction and braking. Thay can be used to take some of the prosessing off the micro and save on I/O ports. Andy

Last edited:
Well if I add a separate brake system to the robot and control direction using multiple outputs from the MCU, do I need a controller in that case?

You can do it directly with transistors, that's how I usually do it. I will add a couple of gates or transistor logic to the "H-drive" (forward and reverse) to ensure that the high and low drive transistors do not come on the same side at the same time. This will cause "shoot through", a short circuit, which will blow the drivers.

With ideal programming and operation this would never happen, but in practice it happens a lot - bad code, electrical glitch that sends the CPU into the weeds, something.