Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

MOSFET heat question

Status
Not open for further replies.

skibum100

I'm new to using MOSFET's and i thought I understood the basics through lots of reading in last several weeks. I prototyped my circuit and found that the MOSFET is getting hot to the touch even though I'm using it well below the rated current and voltage.

This is a simple buck converter to drive a 12V 50 Watt light. I have plans to use the circuit to have the ability to:
1.) flash the light at 0.5 Hz (on 1 second, off 1 second)
2.) ability to dim the light (this is why i'm using a buck converter circuit)

I also wanted to use this MOSFET on a higher voltage / wattage light bulb but started with a smaller bulb to validate my circuit. I can add a heat sink but wanted to make sure this is normal before I continued using this particular device.

Thanks in advance....

View attachment 66509

The way you have it now it is not a buck converter yet, but maybe you have more to come.
The way it is now the FET is always on. If your numbers are correct it is disapating 1.7 watts.
Temperature rise of 62C/watt puts it at about 130C at room temperature.
That FET has an on resistance of .2 ohms so you might want one with a lower Rds on.

Thanks for the quick reply.

It's a buck converter circuit with Vg tied to ground to keep the switch closed. I was trying to test at 1:1 input output voltage. I'll be using PWM into the Gate.