Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

momentary switch question

Status
Not open for further replies.

gompee

I know very little about electronics so please bear with me if I sound a little stupid:).
How do I use a momentary (tact) switch to turn things on and off. Like led lighting circuits, case fans or what ever. Is there some sort of circut thingy for this.
I am a newbie so some thing simple so I may understand.

momentary switches operate with two different options. On and Off. For the On function to work, the user has to press and hold the button down in order to keep the switch on. The moment the user lets go of the button, the switch automatically switches to the off position. The on position of the switch allows current and voltage to be transferred through the switch to a circuit. The off position stops all flow of current and voltage through the switch.

The word momentary tells us that the switch is designed to be used momentarily, or at a single point in time as opposed to being switched on and staying on until the user switches the switch off.

Some common examples of momentary switches are your keyboard keys, or telephone number keys, or your TV remote control buttons.