Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

MOD Counter with scaler output

Status
Not open for further replies.

PNeil

Hello forum, I am currently studying MOD counters in my home study course. As they often do, give you assignments with questions that they never teach or put another way, give an example of.

PROBLEM 1:

A MOD 6 Synchronous counter that goes through the following states 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, then repeat. Outputs are obtained from state 3 and 5.

QUESTION 1:
What is the trigger rate, in pulse per second, if the output signal from state 5 is to occur two milliseconds after that from state 3?

Here is what I know... There is an output of 1 pulse for every 3 and 5 pulse. If the output from state 5 occurs 2 millisecond after state 3, that mean that a pulse occur every 1 millisecond in all states. My guess is 1000 pulse per second. (1/.001) which is the reciprocal of time (frequency) but I am not sure. Any help will be appreciated. If they only teach these things one would not have to look to a forum for help.

Thanks

Last edited:
hi,
I will not give you the direct answer, [ it will spoil your fun], but this simulation should help you work out the answer.

Thanks for your help ericgibbs.

The pulse timing diagram shows when each pulse arrive, even thou I don't really understand the voltage levels provided. Blue line (Normal Pulse), 4.5v. Red line (Scaler output from state 3), 3.0v and Green line (Scaler ouput from state 5), 2.0v.