Mechanically timed switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

A Fitz

Hey guys. I'm new to the forums. I had a question and googled "electronics forums" and this is what I got. So hopefully someone can help me out. Basically I'm looking for a mechanically timed switch. Sort of like a push button switch that would slowly come up after being pressed and would maintain a connection for a set amount of seconds. Or better yet just stay down for a few seconds then pop back up.

An example would be a push button switch for a light bulb. When you press the button down the light bulb turns on. I'd like a switch that I could press down and then release, and the switch would keep the light on for 5 seconds before it turns off. I know there are electronic solutions out there, but I'm looking for a simple mechanical one. Preferably a small one. I'm not a super electrician or anything and excuse me if there is something simple that exists that fits my needs perfectly. The extent of my knowledge is what I see on the Radio Shack shelves.

So if someone here could help me, I'd be super appreciative.

What voltage and current are you switching with the timer?

I have no idea. The wires won't be used for electrical current (I don't think). It's going to be used as a disconnect switch on a Cat 5e Ethernet cable.

I have no idea. The wires won't be used for electrical current (I don't think). It's going to be used as a disconnect switch on a Cat 5e Ethernet cable.

So does that mean you have to make/break all eight conductors?