Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ltspice Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quantised

I was wondering if Ltspice would give any good output about the circuit below. As I have never used it before it will be a big learning curve but do you think it is worth the effort to see if the circuit is good and will it allow me to tweak components to see if it can be improved ? Probably wont use it again either!

The transformer is unknown so something of a similar size will have to used to get a model for it and that alone may be too much of a guess to invalidate any analysis.

Will Ltspice be able to see if the phase etc for the triac is correct? Of course the other big question is will I even be able to interpret the results!

Triac is a BTA26 and the optocoupler is a MOC3021

Triac circuit.JPG

I have simulated AC phase-controlled SCR and Triac circuits with LTSpice and got good agreement with real circuits. Models are out there, but a bit hard to find...

Modeling transformers is hard, especially if you are trying to account for non-linear behavior. Not that the way LTSpice models transformers is inadequate, but you have to know how to do it (which I learned I don't).

Since a power transformer is generally mostly transparent to the circuit you can just use an AC source to simulate it.

The difficult part may be to find an appropriate SCR model, as Mike noted, since there are none included in the LTspice library.

hi,
Try these LTS Triac files in this zip.
E

Attachments