Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

low voltage ac-dc step up help

Status
Not open for further replies.

kiprak

i'd like to start by introducing myself,
my names nick and i like to tinker.

to the point, I'm looking to build a circuit that can capture low ac voltage (.1v-5v ac) from an induction generator and turn it into dc volatage (10v dc).
efficiency is veryyyyyy important.

I have very little electronics experience, although more than the average but I think something using mosfets would work or maybe a full wave rectifier diode...
any help is greatly appreciated.
-Nick

Not very Practical or even Possible, unless your AC Voltage has Lots of Current.

Ya, my idea is to trickle charge a capacitor or something until the voltage gets high enough to power the device for a minute or so.
this sound right?

what i'm trying to do in short is harvest small amounts of energy until the stored capacity grows to a point that is useable for powering a device for a short amount of time.

Ronsimpson's references are good for turning low voltage DC into higher voltage DC. But before that there is the problem of efficiently converting the AC to DC. The obvious solution for that is to use an efficient transformer to raise the voltage to the point where Schottky diodes or MOSFETs used as rectifiers can be efficiently used.

What is the lowest frequency of the AC from the generator and what is its current?