Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Led lamp

Status
Not open for further replies.
Be very careful when building/using that circuit. All parts can be at a lethal voltage!:eek:

thanks for your precautions. but i want to admit that i am a novice and i want to know if the circuit is safe to build and operate.

Be careful. You must remember that every point in the circuit is at a lethal voltage potential.

Probably no changes necessary, but note that the 0.22μF cap MUST be an X-rated type for safety, and the zener diode should be as referred to in the text (whatever that is). Take note too of component voltage ratings.

You should add a fuse to the power coming in and test with a lamp in series.

thanks for the advice. i will do that.

hi rocky,
Many ultra bright LED's have a 3.5V forward voltage drop.
So 16 Led * 3.5V = 56V, so with a 48V zener, you could have dim LED's, check you individual LED Vfwd drops.

The 48V zener is there to clamp the supply to the LED chain to +48V maximum
If it actually did that, the LEDs would not work or be very dull. The REAL purpose of the zener is to discharge the capacitor.
That's why I brought up the discussion in the first place. I thought that everyone had missed the purpose of the zener.

If it actually did that, the LEDs would not work or be very dull. The REAL purpose of the zener is to discharge the capacitor.
That's why I brought up the discussion in the first place. I thought that everyone had missed the purpose of the zener.