Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

led lamp project

Status
Not open for further replies.

gkn

i am new to electronics....this is my first project..i want to make a led emergency lamp with 25 leds..what is the best power source....and also tell me when the led stop works..

Hi,

A lot of emergency equipment like that uses Lead Acid batteries with a connection to the power line for constant monitoring and charging if needed. It would detect the line power drop and turn the LEDs on for example, then start up the charging when the line returns. There are other battery types though that you may want to consider.

Since you are using multiple LEDs and not a single incandescent lamp like some do (or dual lamps) you can monitor the battery and switch off some of the LEDs to conserve power when the battery voltage starts to drop too low. That would keep at least some light going during the emergency power outage.

The 6v Lead Acid cells are popular, but i think the 12v ones are better.