Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Just out of curiosity,which family of MCU do most of us use?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I use 8051s (SiLabs makes great 8051s) and I'm just getting into Cypress PSoC. So far I'm really impressed with the PSoC - takes integration to a whole new level.

Brent

This forum is really a largely PIC forum. Try polling at avrfreaks. But I do believe PICs are the most popular amongst hobbyists.

checkmate said:
This forum is really a largely PIC forum. Try polling at avrfreaks. But I do believe PICs are the most popular amongst hobbyists.

This forum is for ANY micro-controller, it's only PIC heavy because of their popularity - I imagine it's fairly representative of hobbyist micro-controller usage?.

Is it proved that the 8051 family is less stable than PICs?

Currently I still use 89S5x in most occasions.Just because I'm still a college senior,and I don't have to build excessively sophisticated systems.So far,I haven't found anything wrong with this family of MCUs.But I've heard that 8051s are more easily interfered than PICs and AVRs,etc.I haven't experimented that,is that true?

Re: Is it proved that the 8051 family is less stable than PI

Alex_rcpilot said:
Currently I still use 89S5x in most occasions.Just because I'm still a college senior,and I don't have to build excessively sophisticated systems.So far,I haven't found anything wrong with this family of MCUs.