Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Just an introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leftyretro

Hi Group;

I just joined your site a few days ago and today received the authorization to allow posting, so I thought I would introduce myself.

I'm a 59 year old that was born and living in the San Francisco, California bay area. I work as an Instrumentation analyst at a local oil refinery and plan on retirement this summer. I have had a life long interest in all things electronic and have made a successful living from it. After retirement I plan on being more active in home brewing of electronic circuits and devices.

While I'm a licenced ham operator (WA6TKD) I have never been very active so that might be an area I'll get back into. I also want to learn PIC programming as that seems to be such a cost effective avenue for small projects, although I bleed hardware and always considered software a necessary evil. I also like restoring vintage (70s) hi-fi equipment and am a active charter member of the audiokarma.org web site. If any of you have any interest in old or new hi-fi gear I can strongly recommend that site, very friendly and helpful group.

I also like acquiring and building test equipment and have been assembling quite an assortment in anticipation of post retirement. However I don't look forward too much to building with SMD devices as I find their size and my aging eyesight not real compatible!