Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Issues Simulating Duffing Oscillator In LTSpice

Emery

Hello. I am new to LT spice and I am having a lot of trouble simulating a duffing oscillator. I‘ve tried changing integration methods, changing tolerances, using .startup, using .uic, and lots of other things.

I get two different errors depending on my settings (see image):
1) time step too small without .uic
2) singular matrix with .uic

any help is much appreciated. I have included images of the errors, my .asc, as well as the paper that this is based on which includes the circuit diagram. Note that I am using an LF356 op amp. I know that my .include says LF3562, but the ’2’ is just due to me changing the name of the .sub file.

Attachments

• 147 (1).pdf
    130.2 KB · Views: 84
  • DuffingOscillator.txt
    8.9 KB · Views: 71
  • 3D9C13B9-5053-4BC2-8E66-6439963E8DFB.jpeg
    3D9C13B9-5053-4BC2-8E66-6439963E8DFB.jpeg
    58.7 KB · Views: 65
  • DF381116-802E-43FB-A768-5ACFA72771D9.jpeg
    DF381116-802E-43FB-A768-5ACFA72771D9.jpeg
    77.1 KB · Views: 64
Well, I'm running that simulation. Changed the LF356 to one of the educational models and downloaded the model for the AD633J.

I ran into "unknown subcircuit" errors. So inspection of the AD633J.lib revealed that the fix for that was to change the "value" line for U5 and U6 from "AD633J" to "AD633". Maybe you have a different version of the model where AD633J is correct - check the ..SUBCKT line near the top to find out.