Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is connecting an LED to a home theater system safe for the speakers/resistor/LEDs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ThorntonJ

this is my first and possibly only post so please excuse me if im posting in the wrong area.

I am ALMOST a total novice when it comes to each of the components inside the hardware, but the hardware itself... i am a total geek, whether i look it or not.

i have been looking to pimp my home theater system, and my gameing computer speakers, both, by adding appropriate colored LEDs behind the speakers, and inside the subwoofers.

more recently i have been looking into this, and have been getting allot of mixed messages on the possible outcomes of doing this.

-some people say that you dont need a resistor (i know thats not true).

-some people say that all you need to do is add a resistor (but fail to mention the ratios to your sound system).

-some people are saying that it should not be done at all and the best rout to go is to make (a more expensive) color organ.

but my problem with all of these, is they are connecting the resistor to the LED, and then the -, and +, leads to the -, and +, behind the speaker. then people complain it draws power from the speaker...

could i just connect the - lead to the + clamp on the back of the speaker, and the + lead back to the wire leading back to the amp? this wont reduce the voltage or amperage going to the speaker, but rather to the amp its self... in theory anyways.