Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

introduction -- current sources -- led lighting

Status
Not open for further replies.

superfrog

Hello,

I just joined the forum after quite a bit of looking around for a place to look for design ideas and advice.
I am a design engineer in UK, working mainly on high level simulation.

I have covered during my studies and work most of the parts of digital circuit design, from high level tool design to transistor level design. I even designed a silicon op amp, with quite a bit of guidance.

Sadly, I skipped all the most of the discrete analog bits, and am close to useless in anything that does not relate to RC networks and CMOS logic.

In the next post, I ll briefly explain my goals and ask for comment on a single transistor current regulator for the purpose of early testing of led modules I plan on using.

My goal is to design a led lighting system for plants

It would be a mainly dichromic system in 660nm/455nm.

blue can be done with high power leds, luxeon K2 as these ones for example
Lumileds Lighting | Optoelectronics and Displays | Optoelectronics | LED | LUMILED LED Components |LXK2-PR14-Q00
I ll worry about these ones later on

660nm (far red) has to be generated from 20mA leds, as far as I can research.

My ultimate goal in this project is to get some SMPS design, to handle the load (probably chains of 200 of those leds, at 450V, 20mA), but before that I need to go trough a bunch of steps.