Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need help. Guitar effects pedal mod

Status
Not open for further replies.

KnowTooLittle

Hi everyone, I'm new here and new to this whole world of electronics. I have little to no experience but I am super interested in learning.
I have taken on a project with guitar effects pedals.
I have a Boss DS-1 Distortion pedal. The orange one that I'm sure many of you have come across. This pedal had a burnt out diode. It's a N14150. A rectifier diode I believe. Well once I found out what it was that was wrong and started to do research to find the part I found there are a bunch of mods possible for this pedal so I figured why not give it a try.
Then I decided to make an amplifier channel switcher.
After that, I figured well, it might look cool to put both of these independently operated circuits in the same enclosure.
And as I kept making an already increasingly challenging job for an extreme novice more difficult, I thought, hmm, can I add another footswitch that would toggle between the two as opposed to pressing both switches at the same time to toggle between them? (Still operating independently of each other) so basically I can turn off switch 1 and turn on switch 2 immediately by only pressing switch 3 and visa versa.
This is all unnecessary but I feel like it would be fun to have an original looking guitar effects pedal and fun to do the work on it as a way to learn the craft.