Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Humidistat op amp circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danen

I'm extremely new to building circuits. I want to build the exact same circuit below, but first I want to understand how it works. Here's what I think I know:
  • It's a combination of a Voltage Divider and a Comparator
  • As the humidity rises, the resistance lowers and voltage increases
However, I'm lost as to what role the 47k resistor plays in the circuit. I know the 10k pot works at setting a "switching humidity" setpoint. I have also attached the Humidistat's Datasheet as well.

Ideally, I would like to have the humdistat in a chamber with a mister. When the humidity drops below 90%, a signal is sent to the DigiBee. From there, the DigiBee sends a signal to a water solenoid valve connected to the mister. The mister turns on until humidity inside the chamber reaches above 90% and shuts off.

humid%20cct.gif

Attachments

• DSA00292754.pdf
    54.4 KB · Views: 253
The data sheet implies that the resistance of the sensor should be measured using AC, not DC like the circuit you show above. I believe that the no-DC across the sensor limitation has to do with electrolysis damaging the sensor.

In the circuit above, the senor, the 47K resistor, and the pot form a Wheatstone Bridge

Last edited:
The 47k combined with the humidity sensor makes a voltage divider, the 47k pulls to ground and the humid sensor pulls to V+.