Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to light an incandescent bulb using capacitors?

Status
Not open for further replies.

J_Nichols

I am just learning and playing with electronics and I want to light a bulb with one or more capacitors for a few seconds. The bulb would be 25 watts, 250 Volts. So I would like to know the values of the capacitor that I need and what kind they should be.

As a newbie/learner myself, don't think this will work if the voltage is AC. A smaller DC voltage and a car light bulb may work though.

As a newbie/learner myself, don't think this will work if the voltage is AC. A smaller DC voltage and a car light bulb may work though.
I can start with a small car light bulb. In that case, how many uF do the capacitor needs to run the light for about a second?

For a 12Volt - 24 Watt bulb, current is 2 Amperes.
2 Amperes times 1 second = 2 Coulombs
For a capacitor charged to 12VDC, the capacity should at least Q/V = 2/12 = 0.17 Farads = 170,000 μF
----> Then, a 170,000μF capacitor charged to 12VDC will do the one second.

The brightness will decrease during the one second.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

For a 250V DC - 25 Watt bulb, current is 0.1 Amperes.
0.1 Amperes times 1 second = 0.1 Coulomb
For a capacitor charged to 250VDC, the capacity should at least be Q/V = 0.1/250 = 0.0004 Farads = 400μF
----> Then, a 400μF capacitor charged to 250VDC will do the one second.