Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how fast is the PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

electricano

i am a PIC newbie and i have some questions.plz help me

if i use the switch shown below, and connect it to a pull up resistor, the pin will see a binary 1 at the pin at most of the time. and when i press the switch and release it, the input to the pin will momentarily go to zero (since another end is connected to ground) and then high again . if i write the code like this:

if PORTA.0=0 then
endif

can the PIC read the "momentary low signal" at the moment i press the button and release it?

Attachments

• swpush.jpg
    swpush.jpg
    6.2 KB · Views: 715
If the PIC is in a tight loop and assuming the other pins to port a are low then at normal clock speeds (1,4,10,20MHz) the loop will execute much faster than your finger will press and release the button. However in normal cases you would want to detect a button change and have a small delay to "debounce" the switch in software. The segment of code takes 3 clock cycles to make the complete loop.

loop:
compare PORTA, 0
if not equal jump loop

can u plz explain in more detail how it is done. i have just started to learn PIC one month ago and everything is new to me.
assuming i want to control a small dc water pump. whenver the button is pressed and released, the water pump will pump the water from the tank and send to other place for the duration of 5 seconds and then stop.it wll wait for another button pressing and do it again.