Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How do YOU troubleshoot a circuit without a schematic?

Status
Not open for further replies.

777funk

I've been a DIY electronics fixer since I was a little kid. I'm getting better at it as I get older. But I'm still learning. I find it super useful in my daily occupation (building electric guitars) in keeping machines running and I also find it useful in keeping up vehicles. Anyways, enough yapping about all that. To the point of the thread. When something breaks and I have no schematic, after checking the fuse(s) I start with the basics:
1. Look for burnt or exploded parts.
2. Check for shorted transistors using a diode check on an ohm meter.
3. Look for loose/bad connections.

EDIT:
and if it's something I have a duplicate of (i.e. a Stereo channel amplifier, or a multi-axis CNC amp board where I have a known good example to check from) I compare ohm readings to ground at various points.

I'm curious how other people tackle the no schematic repairs.

Last edited:
No particular order.

Inspect is always rule #1. A friend found a sandwich or a nest of roaches in two different VCR's that his shop took in for repair.

There is always a rule which states, check the supply voltages. Use identifyable IC's to find possible pins.

Smell. Feel with fingers or temperature probe for high temperatures.

Reseat connectors.