Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Hex inverter and open collector

Status
Not open for further replies.

mvoltin

I am just learning electronics and have difficulty differentiating between the hex inverter and open collector. Here is the specific question:

1. Hex inverter, such as 74HC04: In digital logic, an inverter or NOT gate is a logic gate which implements logical negation. Thus, when input is low, the output is high and the other way around.
  2. Open collector such as 74LS06 is basically a hex inverter with a pull-up resistor.
So, is it accurate to say that the main difference is that the open collector, instead of just being "LOW", actually "pulls" the output circuit to ground when low (basically, "connects" whatever is on the other side of the output to ground)? I know my semantics are terrible (I am new to this) but hope you understand my point. Is this a correct assumption? thanks.

An ordinary logic part has two output transistors. One pulls the output low and the other pulls the output high.
An open collector output is missing the transistor that pulls the output high so that a resistor can be used instead then more than one open collector output can be connected together to make a multi-input NOR gate (if one or more than one input is high then the output is low, if all inputs are low then the output is high).

TTL logic is typically a totem pole type structure. It's actively driven in both directions.