Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with PIC-PIC communication

Status
Not open for further replies.

RIP_Polaris

Hi,

I want to connect 2 (or more, but I'll start with 2) PICs using only one I/O pin on each PIC. They need to detect if they are connected to the other PIC or not.
The PICs I'm using are from the 16F87X[A] family, since I have some limited experience with them.

I don't know how to get them to detect each other (and detect if they got disconnected) while using a shared input/output pin.
Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Have a pullup resistor pulling the two input pins high, then one PIC can pull the pin low, and the other detects this happening - the second PIC then does the same to acknowledge it's own presence.

Yes, but in the future I may want to have slightly more complex communication.. Are there any protocols that are easy to implement using this PIC? What about serial?

One of the best 1wire communications methods is called 1wire. Developed by Dallas Semiconductor and well documented with PIC source examples.
**broken link removed**

RIP_Polaris said:
Yes, but in the future I may want to have slightly more complex communication.. Are there any protocols that are easy to implement using this PIC? What about serial?

The method I mentioned can be used as serial, you just use the simple handshaking to check it's connected first.

RIP_Polaris said: