Help with 555 + 4017 Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

μZiQ

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this forum and an Electronics student. We're trying to make a board-game timer using a 555 IC timer. I wanted something different compared to my peers, therefore i went on google and searched up the 4017 Decade counter. However using crocodile clips 6.0 I couldn't get it to work the way I wanted it to. I tried changing the push to make switch that lead to pin 2 into a signal generator to provide constant signals so the LEDs would light like a countdown from 10 seconds to 0. This did not work. Any thoughts to help fix this?

Thank you, sorry If my question was a little amateur (I'm only a freshman)
**broken link removed**

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
**broken link removed**

Last edited:
to provide constant signals so the LEDs would light like a countdown from 10 seconds to 0. This did not work. Any thoughts to help fix this?

you mean, you need a devide by 10, or 9 or 8...counter? for above configuration of 4017 providng a 1Hz input will make the LEDs to light from out-0 to out-9 then back to 0. if you need a devide by operation for example divde by 8 then connect out-7 to reset, now you will see all of the out puts goes high every 8 sec.

if your requirement is different, explain little more...

Yeah I would like the LEDs to light from out 0 to out 9 with a one second delay. Which pins should I connect to and why? Crocodile clips just does not label the pins clearly and I need to design this circuit on this program.

First: This is a 555 Timer data sheet.

Second: This is a 4017 decade counter divider data sheet.

Those links should help you with the pin out.