Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help Developing Automotive Black Box, DVR, OBD II

Status
Not open for further replies.

xhcetortcelex

Friends,
I am a noob that is considering building a Dash Cam DVR Black Box for my car, I suspect that I am not the first so please if you know of discussions on developing an awesome Black Box please direct me to it. The Black Boxes being offered are Gold Dusted empty, expensive crapware.

I want added protection from bad drivers, bad insurance companies and bad cops so I want six or more 1K or better cameras and DVR with the ability to store on any size SD card and/or SSD.

I also want telemetry from many sources like GPS, speed, throttle and brake pedal positions, steering degrees, OBDII and more.

Two problems I suspect will be power drain when the car is parked and chip cooling.

I'd like to Stink Tank this idea with interested peeps (WOW! I always wanted to use Peeps, yeah, I know Late)

I look forward to hearing from you
Sincerely
ortcelex

Last edited:
What level are you?
Can you do the software for this project?
Can you do the hardware?

Please indicate what parts of this project are most important?
Modern cars have a on-board computer you can talk to and get some of this information.
Six 1K cameras running will make a huge amount of data. Can you live with 1 picture every second? OR What about storing only the last 15 minutes of camera?

What level are you?
Can you do the software for this project?
Can you do the hardware?