Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Headphone Amp

Status
Not open for further replies.

redart

Hi All,
I'm looking for any kind souls out there who know a thing or two about designing amps to offer some critique on the following headphone amp I've built. The design is a cut down hybrid of two (strangely similar) designs I found on the web at Headwise **broken link removed**, and Rod Elliott's ESP site **broken link removed**.
This is my first attempt at building at amplifier, so I'm happy to say it works, and sounds pretty good too, despite being built entirely on a 2.5" x 6.5" breadboard (including the PSU!). I'd include a picture of it but it looks too horrible.
As I'm a beginner at this sort of thing I'm hoping to get some ideas on where the design may be lacking, and what sort of improvements I might look at making. Anyway, here's the schematic. Thanks for looking.

Attachments

• pic.JPG
    pic.JPG
    29.7 KB · Views: 436
Would using MOSFET's make an improvement? (I am just putting the idea out there).

ANd..what is the left circuit supposed to do? Is that the power supply? What does an LM3771 do?

Last edited:
Hi,
I had originally planned to use MOSFET's, but the store was sold out of them!. The LM317T and LM337T are voltage regulators.