Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Haptic Compass Belt

Status
Not open for further replies.

Avail

Hi. I'm an electronics newbie. This is my first big project that is not a kit. I have studied some basic electronics theory but I dont know what components I should use for regulating the power with this project.

My design so far uses ATMega8 microcontroller and a HM55B compass module. It will be powered by AA cells. The microcontroller needs to be able to control eight small coin pager vibrators (Though probably only one or two at a time). The problem is that the microcontroller needs 5 volts and the motors need 1.5 volts. The microcontroller's outputs can supply up to 40mA at 5V, but the motors need 70mA.

So I figure I need some kind of active components here (e.g. transistors) to regulate the power for the microcontroller and a transistor for each motor with resistors to split the voltage. I have done some research and looked through the catalogues of some electronics suppliers and I am simply overwhelmed by the amount of components to choose from, I have no idea what to use.

Could someone suggest a good setup setup for power regulation? Also any tutorials on this issue would be great.

I'll try to upload some schematics tommorow, right now they are all on paper.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Hi Avail, and welcome to the forum!

First off, it'll be great once you get some schematics uploaded. That'll make it possible to make specific suggestions.