Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

H-Bridge Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

Falven

Hello,
I am pretty new to electronics. I want to design an H-bridge so I may switch a Linear Actuator On/Off and reverse the polarity using a microcontroller. The Motor/Linear Actuator is rated at 12V, 5A on load. The Microcontroller can generate 5V and a Maximum of 40mA to switch the circuit. How many inputs would I require from the Microcontroller? What kind of transistors and with what power ratings should I use?

Thanks

-Falven

Hi,

Since this is going to be a one piece job you should go with over rated transistors. At least 10 amps and say 50 volts. You may want to go higher with the current rating to get lower 'on' MOSFET resistance.

You dont need any INPUTS for the microcontroller unless you plan to monitor current. You'll need at least 2 OUTPUTS maybe 4 depending on your design.

Hi,

Since this is going to be a one piece job you should go with over rated transistors. At least 10 amps and say 50 volts. You may want to go higher with the current rating to get lower 'on' MOSFET resistance.

You dont need any INPUTS for the microcontroller unless you plan to monitor current. You'll need at least 2 OUTPUTS maybe 4 depending on your design.

How do I know if my microcontroller could switch such transistors?