1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

GTP Programmer LITE

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by theo92, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. theo92

    theo92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    WB, India
    I've successfully built an ART2003 PIC18F programmer and it worked 100%.
    I'm very happy with that and I programmed, verified,erased n reprogrammed the PK2V021000.hex file. images are given in the pdf file.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 15, 2008
  2. theo92

    theo92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    WB, India
    I'm going to try programming a PIC16F628A in LVP mode with the art2003...
    Good luck..
     
  3. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    That is the Inchworm ICD2 clone from http://www.blueroomelectronics.com

    Bill is a member of this forum know as blueroomelectronics. He designed both the Inchworm and the Junebug.
    He also posted in this thread. :)
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    170
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada

    Actually the Inchworm and any other RS232 based ICD is not that laptop friendly as you'll probably need a USB to RS232 adapter (the ICD2 can be very fussy about the USB to RS232 device)

    The Junebug (PICkit2) is a better choice for most PIC users.
     
  6. theo92

    theo92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    WB, India
    Success!!!!PIC16F628A can be programmed with art2003.
    But some strange reason the first 628A was not programming , but the second one programmed successfully with a LED blink code. This also worked perfectly....
    An one half step from the bridge to making PICKit 2 Junebug...:D

    Can somebody please gimme some good but simple PIC16F628A project/programs to test...
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2008
  7. kian2003

    kian2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes:
    0
    hi how can i program the 18f2550 for PICkit2 clone.i have to make another programmer to build this programmer????
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2008
  8. Mickster

    Mickster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes:
    57
    Location:
    BDA
    You need some way of getting the PICkit2 firmware into the 18F2550, be it by getting someone you know with a programmer to do it, obtaining a pre-programmed PIC, or building the cheap programmer to do it.
     
  9. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    The 18f2550 supports low voltage programming LVP. It would be one way to program the chip for the PICkit2 clone.
     
  10. theo92

    theo92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    WB, India
    simple answer. Do just like me, build a art2003 programmer. and thgen program 18F2550 with winpic. Be sure to select LVP and 20 MHz clock speed in fuses section before programming......good luck....I built it programmed it successfully.....
     
  11. silvarblade

    silvarblade Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    264
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    The Motor city,USA
  12. theo92

    theo92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    WB, India
    I've built my PICKit 2 on a non plated home made PCB. I'll post some picture tomorrow.I didn't connected thr 680 uH inductor. The hardware was detected by PICKit 2 Programmer 2.40, the software. and the PK2 hardware firmware was v2.30.

    First problem, I'm getting a error saying "Vpp voltage error" and trouble shooting shows that the Vpp is shorted. How to fix it?

    will Adding the inductor solve it?
    Is there any problem in the NPN and PNP transistor array?
    Will the problem occur if the mosfets, BS250 and 2N7000 reversed?
    Any problem in resistor value(s) or diodes?

    Without connecting anythiny to the PK2 ICSP pin, the Troubleshoot menu is showing that "An external power was detected at Vpp @ 4.2V'" Is this normal?

    Is this correct>.....the pinout for BS250 is 1:Drain;2:Gate3:source when shown from front. And the pinout for 2N7000 is 1:SOurce 2:Gate 3:Drain.
    I think I've reversed any of this two in my PCB.

    Anyway, The Data and Clock pins are working correctly
     
  13. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    You need to add the inductor. It is part of the charge pump that generates VPP. The uC sees you do not have VPP and reports it as shorted, but the problem is the missing inductor. Install it and see if it fixes VPP.

    The best source of pinout info is the datasheet from the place that supplied the BS250 and 2N7000. Bill useful VPP info this thread:
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2008
  14. cucamunga

    cucamunga New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Chile
    what if i only have the 2N7000?...
    is there any replacement for the BS250P??... because i need to program those kind of PICs with internal oscillators.

    i read that i should connect the D and the S of the BS250P... but what about the 1k resistor on the G pin of the BS250P?... should i eliminate it and leave everything the same?... can someone explain this modification ...


    thanks...
     
  15. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    170
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    You don't have to use either the 2N7000 or BS250, they are only required under certain conditions to get the PIC into programming mode.
     
  16. cucamunga

    cucamunga New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Chile

    yeah?!!:.. and why are they in the schematic??...


    i will be able to program those kind of PICs without those parts?...

    how the schematic will turn in to?...

    someone have the "reduced" schematic??
     
  17. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    170
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    It's an old schematic that was posted for review of an early Junebug prototype, that's the nature of the net things spread around. Look at all the stuff that's out there that doesn't work like the scads of schematics from Electronics Lab.

    PS the D+ & D- may be reversed in the schematic you found.
     
  18. cucamunga

    cucamunga New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Chile


    OK, i will check it...

    so... i should build the Lite version of your programmer?.
     
  19. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    170
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I don't sell a lite version that was only a prototype. The Junebug kit is $49US and shipping worldwide is about $10.
     
  20. cucamunga

    cucamunga New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Chile
    but that prototype still manage to program all pics ?... even the LF ones?
     
  21. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    170
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Pretty much, as long as they are 5V or 5V tolerant.
     

Share This Page