Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Flashing LED project

Status
Not open for further replies.

dogsofwar

I need help with a very small and very easy project. Or so I think :)

I need to build a flashing LED that will gradually lessen the time between flashes until eventually reaching the point of constant on, and at that time turn off. The time I'm aiming for is to take around 10-15 minutes to reach the off mode.

I'm not a complete newbie, as have taken several courses of electronics way back in high school. But as everything else I learned in school, isn't easy to remember these days.

I would like to keep the project small: small battery, 1 led, I'm assuming some chips may be in order, and need a reset button.

Also, if possible, and I need to have a way to either lengthen or shorten the time it take to reach its off mode. Not exact, or variable, but for example, allow it to adjust between 15 minutes and 30 minutes.

I'm thinking of using a ripple counter, but I'm not sure how one exactly works.

Very simple example:
Q1 (4)
Q2 (8)
Q3 (16)
Q4 (32)

Does this mean that Q1 will count 4 times, then Q2 will start counting? And once Q1 has counted to say 4, it remains high? Or does it fall back to low when it goes to the next one?