Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ESP8266 & DHT22 problem reading values

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I am making a simple control system using technology that i have been using for about 2 years now with no problems. This is the first time i have a bit of difficulty.

Hardware:
1) ESP8266 Wemos D1, powered through 5.1V (external 12V 2A power suply + step-down to get 5.1V, step-down can supply up to 1.5A, much more than i need)
2) 4x DHT22 sensor

Alright so this is 4 sensors on an ESP8266. I power the sensors from the 5V pin on esp8266 board. To clarify, i tried also using 3.3V pin on wemos d1 board with no difference.

Pins used:
- D2, D3, D4, D5 (here i am talking about pins on wemos d1 board, that is, that is how pins are numbered on a board)

The sensor wires are about 1-1.5m long, i used old UTP cable for that.

This is the first time i am actualy using 4 sensors on 1 board, till now i only used 1 or 2 at most. As you can see on image in the attachment, first 3 sensors on pins D2, D3 and D4 are working ok, only the sensor on pin D5 is giving me trouble. I tried switching sensors/wires to see if it helps, i even tried connecting a separate sensor with only 10cm long wire to it, with no difference.

Software used:
- arduino ide and i am using a DHT library for arduino, gave me no problems so far.

Code:

Code:
for(int i=0;i<3;i++) {       
    sensor4_temperature = dht4.readTemperature(); // Gets the values of the temperature