Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

envelope detector

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi i just come out with this basic AM demodulator circuit with a low pass filter at fc=15khz and high pass at 159hz. It is for demodulating a 27mhz AM with 10khz information signal.

I know i am supposed to use LC filters which are more efficient for high frequency signals but i wanted to test this out using lab components which has very few inductors.

I am a beginner in this RF thing. So any comments would be very much appreciated.

Attachments

• detector.gif
    detector.gif
    2.6 KB · Views: 548
Spectacular Butter said:
Hi i just come out with this basic AM demodulator circuit with a low pass filter at fc=15khz and high pass at 159hz. It is for demodulating a 27mhz AM with 10khz information signal.

I know i am supposed to use LC filters which are more efficient for high frequency signals but i wanted to test this out using lab components which has very few inductors.

I am a beginner in this RF thing. So any comments would be very much appreciated.

You would normally use a germanium diode for a demodulator, rather than a silicon one - simply due to the much lower voltage loss across them.

AM radio also doesn't have anything like the bandwidth you're hoping for, which is why it sounds so poor. If you're hoping to get 15KHz bandwidth from an AM radio you're going to be interfering over a good part of the spectrum!.