Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Dumb artist needing your guidance on making a slow rotating device!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tyzoone

Hey all,

As the title states I am trying to fabricate an extremely slow moving device for a school project I am doing. Also I feel it's important to state that I'm VERY new to this mechanical world you all thrive in.... I just learned how to change my own cars oil the other day and I'm over 30 years old HA!

To explain further, I need to be able to rotate a very light weight plastic lid on top of the motor one full rotation over the coarse of 4 to 5 days respectively. I've been looking into stepper motors but I get lost as they seem a bit more complicated than I can handle... Are there other options or is there even anything in this world that rotates that slowly for cheap (again I'm a student)?

Your help is very much appreciated!

**broken link removed** has a 120Vac powered gear motor whose wheel (shaft) rotates once per 24 hours. Maybe a 1:5 belt-drive or gear reduction behind that?

**broken link removed** has a 120Vac powered gear motor whose wheel (shaft) rotates once per 24 hours. Maybe a 1:5 belt-drive or gear reduction behind that?

I like it! And I've been looking into these actually but have no idea how to add a gear reducer to it... Would this be complicated? Does that get installed between the power and the actual timer itself?