Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DMX PIC16F84 Printerport Dongle

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitt0s

Hey guys\gals,

I'm kinda new in electronics, but trying to build this little project i found on the web:

I have found all the parts, except one, which I don't really understand what it is..

u can see the schematic here:

u see the 4MHz between pin 15 and 16? i know it some kind of buzzer, but I haven't found it yet.. can someone please give me the exact name of it? does the circuit really need it? seems kinda useless to me.

thanks in advance.

Kitt0s said:
u see the 4MHz between pin 15 and 16? i know it some kind of buzzer, but I haven't found it yet.. can someone please give me the exact name of it? does the circuit really need it? seems kinda useless to me.

It's a crystal, and the circuit won't work without it - it's ABSOLUTELY VITAL, and a perfectly normal part of most microcontroller circuits.

OK i'v got another question.

assuming I build this circuit..
I have this part: DLP-USB245M-G (from FTDI) its a USB to FIFO Parallel Interface Module.. (datasheet can be found **broken link removed** )

and i was wondering how to wire up the the pins..

i know how to wirte D0 till D7, but what about the other 2 (pins 14 and 1)

**broken link removed**

CLOCK and START pins.. goes to the Strobe pin1 and the AutoFeed pin14.. but where do they go to on the FIFO?

its USB to Parallel.. gave the wrong img..

**broken link removed**