Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Distortion in darlington amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stan2020

I have assembled a circuit published before:
29fy93k05n.jpg

With an input of 500Hz sin wave and 20 mv amplitude the output on 8 ohms speaker looks like this:

29fykj1a1v.jpg

I am not good at electronics; should it be a single transistor I'd suggest the wrong operating point choice;
but what is this in case of compound transistor?
I noticed that distortions are getting smaller if I decrease emitter resistor up to 60 ohms.
Is this circuit diagram wrong?

Last edited:
It's an absolutely horrible 'circuit', and is never going to sound any good - there's no negative half cycles as you've got no negative drive capacity.

And yes, the circuit diagram is wrong.

The horrible circuit is designed by a student who knows nothing about electronics and writes with very poor English.

Build a proper audio amp with a push-pull output if you want to power a speaker.

You can build a low power poor-sounding 3 transistors push-pull amplifier or you can buy a mono LM386 (0.14W into 8 ohms at low distortion when powered from 5V) or buy a stereo PAM8403 (2.5W per channel into 4 ohms when powered from 5V). The IC's cost $1.00US or less.

Thank you everyone for responses!
I did have a feeling there is something wrong with this schematics, although I found if emitter resistor is decreased to 50 ohm then distortions disappear and amplifier produces a decent sound from 15 mV input.