Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Different ways to amplify a MIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

L3GACY

I am amplifying the output of a small mic with a tip31 and using the output on small speakers from old headphones and lighting an LED and I was wondering if there are other ways of amplifying it other then using an LM386, I am still learning about building circuits and I can never get the LM386 to amplify the LED; it just gets DIM.

A single transistor does not have enough voltage gain to amplify a microphone and drive a speaker. It might flash an LED.
An LM386 amplifier can have a voltage gain of 200 and drive a speaker or flash up to 15 pairs of LEDs.

Attach the schematic of your transistor amplifier driving a speaker and driving an LED.
Also attach the schematic of your LM386 circuit driving an LED.
Then we will show you how to fix it.

Ways to amplify a microphone include bipolar transistors, j-fets, op amps, and a few I don't know about, like CMOS chips in linear mode and mosfets.

You have the battery connected backwards and the LED connected to the base of the transistor which is its input.
Is your mic an electret, dynamic or carbon type?

The LM386 can drive a speaker or it can drive up to 15 pairs of red LEDs like this:

Attachments

• LM386 flashing LEDs.PNG
    LM386 flashing LEDs.PNG
    24.1 KB · Views: 575
The box my MIC came in says Condenser Michrophone Element, what would be the proper way of wiring the TIP31 in my situation?