Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DC-DC Step Down, Need 11v.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElectroTactical

Hello, I am new to electronics and am starting to create my first gadgets. Mintyboost, VU Meter, etc. The minty boost has 5v which got me started on an idea. My VideoCamera uses a 11v 1A power supply, I'm not sure how to change voltages from a chip. I have used search and couldn't find much so basically in short I am asking for assistance in learning. Idea's were to use a 12v SLA battery to power it, First I thought Just use an inverter and all but I'm assuming that would lose efficiency quite a bit by turning DC-AC-DC. What is your view?

Thank you everyone in advance for your help, I know dealing with people unfamiliar with the subject can be a pain but I am willing to read and learn if that helps.

-ElectroTactical

You need a low drop-out variable regulator.

You could just wire two series diodes between your battery and your video camera. That would drop the battery from a nominal 12.6 to 11.4 which would work fine for your camera. Use 3 amp rated diodes.

Lefty

You could just wire two series diodes between your battery and your video camera. That would drop the battery from a nominal 12.6 to 11.4 which would work fine for your camera. Use 3 amp rated diodes.

Lefty

Agreed! Simple and functional.

Lefty
that is the bias voltage that would be knocking the voltage down correct? the .5-.7 volts right?