Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Controlling a hoist with a garage door logic board

Status
Not open for further replies.

chief201

I have been reading old posts concerning garage door circuits and think I may have found my answer, but want to verify it with the members. I intend to control a hoist motor with a Liftmaster medium duty commercial garage door operator logic board. I studied the wiring diagrams and made a temporary connection to a 120v power supply. After identifying that the close button needed a photo eye setup to properly work, I solved that problem with a pulse generator. While performing a bench test I discovered that both lead wires to the capacitor for the open and close circuits showed 124v when either button was pressed. I couldn't wrap my head around this until I saw the old posts that seemed to indicate that this may be normal, that both leads will be hot going to the capacitor. Is this correct, and if so, does one lead initiate before the other to determine the direction. Obviously, I'm not very versed in electronics, knowing just enough to get me intro trouble. Once I've determined the board will work for this, I'll deal with the compatibility of the hoist motor, which has two unlabeled capacitors. At this point I'm assuming it works like the operator motor. Thanks for your help.

It sounds like the circuit for an induction motor.