Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Control Bare LCD With ATmega328p

Status
Not open for further replies.

Athosworld

I want to control a bare dot matrix display with an ATMega328p but I have no experience on doing this, what code do I need to create a “wiggle” AC signal to drive that LCD? Or do I have a driver IC between the ATMega and the LCD?

To do it in a 'proper' way you need either an interface IC, or a controller that contains the required hardware - such as the PIC 18LF8490. A big issue is the number of pins required to feed the glass.

Do you have a suitable display to work with?, in my experience they are pretty well impossible to find.

You can get a demo board to play with from:

You can download the user manual, plus sample code.

Or do I have a driver IC between the ATMega and the LCD?
Yes, definitely.

A graphics LCD panel needs complex multi-level drive signals; the controller ICs (for small panels, at least) have internal RAM that you [via the driver program] load the grey level or colour for each pixel in to, and the driver IC translates the grey or colour values to the correct voltage combinations for the panel.

The interface from the MCU - Arduino, PIC or whatever - can be two wire I2C (slowest), three or four wire SPI (reasonably fast) or parallel data bus (fastest), depending on the requirements, speed vs number of MCU pins needed just for the display.

These are a good example of a small display with integrated controller IC