Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Concurrent threads on a pic?

Status
Not open for further replies.

HakBot

Hi,

I'm kinda new to microcontrollers and I've got some code going that controls 1 hobby servo via a delay loop that controls the pulse width. What I want to do is drive serveral servos now from the same pic. I was thinking I could just use concurrently running threads and run each servo from a thread. Is it possible to do threads on a pic? If so, can anyone point me to an example?

If threads are not possible, what is the standard way of running multiple servos on the same board? My chip, the pic18f4550 has 16 digital outputs so in theory I can run up to 16 servos from this board.

What language are you using?

How much resolution do you have or do you need per step between the 1.0-msec and 2.0-msec pulse range?

What's the oscillator frequency to the core on your '4550?

Mike

The simple answer is timer interrupts, but as Mike asks it depends on what resolution you're wanting, and the clock speed you're using.

Another question is what else is it doing?, depending on that you may simply be able to run the 16 servos using delay loops, in sequential order.

Mike,