Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Complete beginner

RyeRye

I am trying to make a simple circuit. Well it seems simple but it's really racking my brain there's so much information I don't know where to start

So the circuit I'm trying to make is for a 3v mini DC motor. The idea is when I turn the switch on the battery pack (x2aa batteries) the motor will turn on but also have an led that lights up to show it's powered on. The issue I'm having is when I set this up the led keeps flickering and is very dim.

If anybody could shed some light on this I would very much appreciate it.

The likely problem is that the battery voltage is falling too low for the LED.

A red LED with a 47 Ohm resistor may work; red LEDs have the lowest voltage drop, about 1.8V or so.
Other colours need higher voltages to conduct.

You must always have a series resistor with a normal LED to limit the current. 47 Ohms would set the LED current to around 20 - 25mA or so with new cells, down to a fraction of that when they are near flat.

The two AA cells will give around 3V with no load or low loads, when they are new. That voltage will drop steadily as they discharge, down to about 2V. It will also be pulled lower if the load current is high for the type of cell; a good brand alkaline cell can give much higher current than an economy type generic cell.

Maybe your AA cells are cheap and very poor quality .
Use new Name Brand Alkaline battery cells.