Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cold Soldering Iron

Status
Not open for further replies.
i don't know... i've seen commercials but did anyone really try it?
i mean someone other than people surrounded with pets and kids
while working on arts and krafts...

I have no direct experience of this tool, but from what I have read on other forums, it is a waste of money.

From the description I would not bother with it myself.

JimB

seeing that it runs an electrical current through the solder, if you were to accidently bridge 2 pcb tracks you may instantly kill the circuit your putting together because of the amount of current induced in the tracks.!!!

my verdict: clever and simple, but impractical!!

Several of my electronics students bought them in hopes that it was the "wave of the future".
It is not.

It is supposed to work very much on the same principle as an arc welder, and it does, but that's not a good thing for soldering.

While it does work (I guess), I wouldn't go rush out and buy one.
Why?

The tip is too large for small work.
The power is not adequate for large work.
The tip gets flux residue on it and then can't make the electrical connection needed in order for the thing to work.
The tip is too fragile.
The tip is too flat for rework.
The tip stays hot for a good while after use (just like science suggests)
blah blah blah etc. etc.

Just thought I'd pitch in a word since I'd messed around with one.
:)