Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Circuit/Project Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

raygussy

Hello All! New member hoping for some assistance. I am a Tech Ed instructor at a small Wisconsin high school. I'm trying to build a small electromagnetic table for my students so they can process small cnc plasma items they are doing for a fundraiser. I currently have a 10 amp, 12 volt power supply (110v input) wired in series to two matching microwave transformers with the secondary windings removed to use as the electromagnets. Each one provides about 1 ohm resistance. I'm getting good magnetic pull on both but in order to keep the supply from overpowering I've had to add two 1 ohm, 100 watt resistors. That keeps the power supply happy but now my resistors are overheating, Surface temp on them reaches 280 degrees F. I don't think they will last too long at that temp, but maybe I'm wrong. Looking for any advice on how to keep everything balanced and happy. I'm attaching pics and specs of the supply and resistors, and I'm using 14 awg stranded wire between supply and magnets.
Thanks a ton in advance for any assistance!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220322-205510.png
    Screenshot_20220322-205510.png
    456.7 KB · Views: 188
  • Screenshot_20220322-205711.png
    Screenshot_20220322-205711.png
    181.8 KB · Views: 181
  • Screenshot_20220322-205331.png
    Screenshot_20220322-205331.png
    480.5 KB · Views: 187
  • Screenshot_20220322-205346.png