Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Circuit design for LED dimming

Status
Not open for further replies.

jp7189

I'm looking for help designing a circuit for dimming LEDs on a fish tank in reaction to ambient light. In this case I want to make the LEDs brighter when there is more ambient light, and this seems to be opposite of the circuit designs I have found online.

I'm a hobbyist, and no EE. I can use a soldering iron alright, but am baffled by component selection and the calculation of correct values.

Based on the LED driver's documentation, it seems like I could just connect an LDR photocell with resistance from 10K-100K Ohms, but that somehow seems too simple. For one thing, I have no way to know if the ambient light will match up with the range of the LDR.

The driver I'm using is a Mean Well HLG-100H-36B, and here's what the docuementation says about dimming (I've also attached a PDF file with the same specs in case the below text is hard to read):

Dimming Operation:

HLG-100H-36B

DIM+(Blue) DIM-(White)

-V(Black)
+V(Red)

Built-in 3 in 1 dimming function, IP67 rated. Output constant current level can be adjusted through output cable by connecting a resistance or
1 ~ 10Vdc or 10V PWM signal between DIM+ and DIM-. Please DO NOT connect "DIM-" to "-V".
Reference resistance value for output current adjustment (Typical)

Resistance value 10K 20K 30K 40K 50K 60K 70K 80K 90K 100K OPEN
Percentage of rated current 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100% 102%~108%