Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

characetristic equation

Status
Not open for further replies.

niga

Hi there,

let there be a transfer function G(s)= s+2/Ms^2+bs+K

the denominator is the characteristic equation and is equated to zero because ithe roots of this eqn describes the character of time response of the system.

Can someone tell me

Why?Why the denominator?

This may sound stupid but i am new to control systems.

Please do help me.

Thanx a lot!

The roots of the characteristic equations are also called the poles of the system. These poles are perhaps the most important parameter in Control Theory.
Assume that the input is an impulse function, U(s)=1. Then Y(s)=G(s).
If you take the inverse laplace transform of G(s), you will find that the time response will comprise of a summation of exponentials exp(pt), where p are the poles of the system.
You can easily see that a positive p will cause y(t) to go to infinity as t increases.
A highly negative p will cause y(t) to go to zero rapidly as t increases.
Because the time response is exponential in nature, the effect of a highly negative pole dies out quickly as compared to that of a mildly negative pole.
As such, we usually only take note of the 2 least negative poles, and the reduced characteristic equation is now (s-p0)(s-p1)=s^2-2Sw+w^2.